Home | Issues | Articles | Bulletins | Perspective | Audio | Guests | Images | Boards | Links | About | Contact

Regional Governance

     As you read the following article by New Hampshire State Rep., Nelson Pryor, notice the similarity in his description of the process of regionalization in England to the U.S. of A. today.  Keep in mind that:  1) There is no comparison to the European Parliamentary government of the U.K. to that of our Constitutional Republic.  Yet, we see the identical process of regionalization.  2)  The "three-tier planning" mentioned in this article is discussing a 'layered' governmental structure identical to regionalism in America.  3)  Government in America today is being restructured under the plan of the non-governmental United Nations Organization.  If you haven't yet, do read the 1949 treatise on the role of Non-Governmental Organizations in bringing about World Government.  This can all be stopped at a local and state level. It will NOT be stopped from an international and national level because the plans are being laid from that level.    

From the: National Educator - November, 1974

U.N.'s New Task: Regionalize The World

U.N. Quietly Regionalizes England

By Nelson A. Pryor, State Representative - State of New Hampshire

England Split into 9 ‘Planning Regions'    

     The United Nations Organization has been busy implementing its assigned task of regionalizing the world. Not satisfied with existing government boundaries and forms of government, it had meddled into the internal affairs of member nations. By its resolution 1086(C(XXXIX), the UNO authorized the Secretary-General to organize a cadre to promote regionalism along with research facilities and training programs.

     A member nation of the UNO, England, is now feeling the full effect of the heel of regionalism. England has been busted up into nine regions. Copies of the map along with a report are available from the New Hampshire Citizens' Lobby, 138 Main Street, Berlin, New Hampshire 03570 at a reasonable charge. [since this article was published in 1974, we have no idea if the information or the organization mentioned here is still available].

     The Town and Country Planning Act of 1947 set the stage for England. Under this act, the County (for urban areas) and County Borough Councils (for rural areas) had to come up with a planning program that would meet the approval of the Minister of Planning. Failure of the 140 Councils to come up with a suitable plan by 1952 would cause the Central Government to supersede and impose its own planning program.

     The Act was in detail requiring County and Town maps, supporting evidence and specifics such as requiring all new or expanded industries to have "Industrial Development Certificates" before start-up could get underway.

     The softening up process having got underway, the next step was much easier. That was to break England up into nine regions, in 1965. Each region was administered by a Regional Planning Board – consisting of the Senior staff officer of the Regional Offices of the Central Government – and an Economic Planning Council – consisting of appointees of the Secretary of State for Environment.


     To lock in this appendage and make it an integral part of the body politic, the Town and Country Planning Act of 1968 was passed by Parliament. Further inroads were made on traditional "home rule" of the 140 County and County Borough Councils through the formation of forty-four planning Authorities to supersede, and replace "local" planning.

     In effect, the act institutionalized three-tier planning.

     The Central Government established national policy.

     Then, the nine regional planning councils were to collaborate with the forty-four planning Authorities to plot their regional strategies, with resultant plans subject to modification by the Central government.

     Each Regional Planning Council's "regional strategy" would then be filled out by the planning Authorities assigned to it, with the final plan approval subject to the Central Government.

     Despite the apparent tight reins, however, the 1968 Act freed the planning Authorities from the finer and cumbersome mass of statutory detail that was characteristic of older planning acts.

     This has allowed a "no man's land" for citizen control as administrative rules filter down from the Regional Planning Councils. The RPC's have, for instance, established their own "assisted areas" for aid-money they control.

Those assisted areas are:

1) special Development Area;

2) Development Area; and

3) Intermediate Area.

     The English government is becoming unglued as power follows money. These nine Regional Planning Councils have acquired power through control over capital expenditures, various grants and subsidies which each have to dish out. Power is thus gravitating around each of the regionals as the Crown government is phased out along with the rest of the heretofore nations of the world. None are so blind as those who refuse to see.

- End-

Home | Issues | Articles | Bulletins | Perspective | Audio | Guests | Images | Boards | Links | About | Contact